jump to navigation

Time (Hanging On In Quiet Desperation) !! September 14, 2010

Posted by Richard Foote in Richard's Musings.
trackback

UPDATE: My first presentation at OpenWorld on Sunday “Session S318615: “IOUG Oracle Indexing Tips, Tricks and Traps” is now FULL. Hopefully you have already pre-registered although sometimes with these things, the presentation might be moved to a bigger room.

For those of you who may have been wondering why it’s been so quiet here lately, no, while driving home from work one dark evening, I haven’t been taken by aliens on board their mothership, to a beautiful but mysterious galaxy far far away, to be experimented on and mind probed into why earthling indexes in Oracle databases need to be rebuilt so infrequently …

I’ve just been really really busy !!!

The InSync10 Conference in Melbourne last month was excellent, a really good 2 days and it was nice to catch up with lots of my Oracle friends such as John Bushell, Tom Kyte, Connor McDonald, Mogens Norgaard, Debra Lilley, Kyle Hailey, Penny Cookson, Jeannie Dobney, Tony Jambu, as well as meeting lots of other nice people as well. My talk was well attended (considering the stiff competition) and seem to go well considering the nice feedback I’ve received.

However, the biggest thrill of all was catching up with Stanley the ACE vest again. You can just see the excitement on my face in this picture of me with Stanley !!

Since then it’s been non-stop. I’ve been on Oracle training courses, I’ve been finalising my presentations for OpenWorld, updating my seminar materials for the upcoming seminars in Europe next month, in heavy training trying to overcome various injuries so I can compete in the football final series (we managed to make the grand final again this year only to be beaten by Canberra FC 0-1), helping kids with their homework revision (I had forgotten just what fun maths and simultaneous equations can be !!), trying to learn and experiment and pick up as much 11g release 2 knowledge as I possibly can at work ready for our upcoming upgrades, and on and on it goes.

So unfortunately, my poor little blog has been rather sad and neglected lately as a result.

Things don’t appear to be slowing down anytime soon with my packing nearly done for my trip to Oracle Openworld nearly upon me !! I’m again really looking forward to catching up with lots of people in San Francisco, should be another excellent experience. Received an email recently from Oracle marketing to say that my first presentation on the Sunday is filling up fast, which is nice to know. My agenda is:

Session S318615: “IOUG: Oracle Indexing Tips Trick and Traps” – Sunday September 19, 12:30pm Moscone West L2 Room 2005

Session S319069: “Oracle Indexing New Features In Oracle11g R1 and R2″ – Monday September 20, 2:00pm Moscone South Room 303

“Unconference: Oracle Indexing Q & A With Richard Foote” Tuesday 21 September, 10:00am Hotel Parc 55 Mason Room

Hopefully, I’ll have the chance to catch up with a lot of you in the coming week at OpenWorld.  To gurantee a place in the first two sessions, I would recommend booking ASAP via the Scheduler Builder facility.

A sad thing about going to Oracle OpenWorld this year however is that I’ll miss my local rugby league team, the Canberra Raiders playing a home final against the Western Tigers. I’ve a feeling this could finally be our year and I’ll miss on most of the final series while in the US. Go the mighty Green Machine !! Hopefully, I’ll be back in time to watch them win the grand final.

Finally, just want to quickly mention the Michigan OakTable Symposium 2010 Conference that’s on this week. I would dearly love to go but my schedule made it impossible. However, it’s a fantastic conference with a truly quality list of speakers and if you have the chance to go, I would strongly recommend grabbing that chance.

Hoping to write a few blog posts in the coming days, to complete my little series on block dumps, to write a few things from OpenWorld, cover some of the nice little goodies from 11g that are index related and review the fantastic deluxe re-release of the classic David Bowie album, “Station to Station”.

But for now, it’s back to the packing and making sure I have enough undies for the trip to OpenWorld :)

Comments»

1. Richard Foote - September 15, 2010

UPDATE: My first presentation at OpenWorld on Sunday “Session S318615: “IOUG Oracle Indexing Tips, Tricks and Traps” is now FULL. Hopefully you have already pre-registered although sometimes with these things, the presentation might be moved to a bigger room.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,913 other followers

